The illusion of the Virtual World.

My sister made my Facebook account when I was seven, I was designing my first Yahoo avatar around the age of 8, three years ago I found myself getting introduced to Instagram, gmail and google+, I had reactivated my Facebook unknowingly at the age of nine, opened a new twitter account just a few months ago, and I’ve had a Skype since the age of 12. Who could forget those good old days of Club Penguin and Fantage? (I did consider them to play a very crucial role in social media.)

The thing is, with my mind raving constantly about various figments of my imagination or past/present/future events, I noticed that Social Media played a big role in my imagination. My perspective has most definitely been remodeled and reshaped multiple times, my attitude and my humility has gone on a very adventurous escapade revealing my bitter and a not so bitter, a quite humble self, and of course, it created a huge impact on my friendship with others and my discovery of my own identity.

But here’s what I’d like to introduce, the illusion that I constantly keep trying to disentangle myself from, the illusion of self satisfaction through counting my likes or waiting for individuals to message me, the illusion of proving my self worth or beauty through pictures or messages, the illusion of happiness, when you’re given all the attention you desire. Why should I call it an illusion? Isn’t it all real?

Of course it’s real, which makes it more illusive, actually. Although I believe that social media has benefited us in multiple ways, this one quality of social media, a quality of illuding one into happiness, when in fact, it consumes the time you could spend discovering your true worth and your passion. We tend to be so consumed in the virtual world, that while liking all the “Carpe Dieme” posts, we’re not really following the mantra are we? Are we really ‘seizing the moment’?

While we sit and ogle at our social media platforms, the technological trance swoons us into the fictitious reality, locking our mindset and perspective,

Until we see another post.

Thankyou,

The Social Media addict,

-JalataMelon.

 

Leave a Reply

